the intrusion

(Summer 2005)

She first showed up in my dreams. First in flashes, then as a regular presence.

She wouldn’t leave. I didn’t know what to make of it.

Then she started showing up everywhere. In the bark of a tree. In the face of a woman on the subway. In a child’s abstract artwork.

She wouldn’t say a thing, but I felt like I was being stalked. And I had no idea what to make of it. I had never experienced such intrusion from a god before.

After a month or so, I brought it to my teacher.

“I have no idea who she is. I have no idea who she wants. But she won’t leave me alone. It all seems very intrusive.”

daniel villafruela
Sara-la-Kali, also known as Saint Sarah. Photo by Daniel Villafruela.

“You don’t know who she is?”

“No, and I have no idea where to start.”

“Well, did you ask her who she is?”

No, actually, I hadn’t. How obvious.

So the next time she showed up, I asked her.

“Who are you?”

“Sara-la-Kali”, she said to me.

And with that a door opened. She stopped stalking me, and started taking me on journeys.

 

Leave a comment